We are committed to ending job insecurity and poverty wages in academia, protecting academic freedom, and providing an excellent education to all Duke students.

The Duke Faculty Union is over 200 non-tenure-track Duke faculty members in the College of Arts and Science, Graduate School, and Center for Documentary Studies working to empower our fellow faculty and support our students. Some of us have been teaching at Duke for over twenty years. Some of us just started this past semester. Most of us hold the terminal degree in our field. Our disciplines and courses range across the university— cultural anthropology, biology, applied music, math, and aikido— to name just a few.

Join as an official member of your union here. Joining as an official dues-paying member is an important sign of support for the union’s accomplishments to date and signals a commitment to your colleagues as we move forward.

Many of us have also chosen to make a small monthy contribution to the Workers United Political Power Campaign Committee, which lobbies for worker-friendly policies in the political realm.

We’re officially Local 26 of SEIU Southern Region , a union with members in Tennessee, Kentucky, Alabama, Mississippi, Georgia, Florida, Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina, and headquartered in Union City, Georgia.

SEIU Southern Region is an affiliate of Service Employees International Union (SEIU), which is an organization of over 2 million members united by the belief in the dignity and worth of workers and the services they provide and dedicated to improving the lives of workers and their families, creating a more just and humane society.

Since 2013, more than 16,000 university faculty have joined SEIU through the Faculty Forward campaign. Faculty at higher education institutions including Duke, the University of Chicago, Washington University, the University of Southern California, and Tufts University have unionized.

Thoughts or questions? Please contact us at dukefacultyunion@gmail.com or by reaching out to any of the individuals listed in our leadership directory.